Schizophrenia

Schizophrenia  is a mental disorder characterized by a breakdown of thought processes and by poor emotional responsiveness.  Common symptoms include auditory   hallucinations, paranoid or bizarre delusions, or  disorganized speech and thinking, and it is accompanied by significant social or occupational dysfunction. The onset of symptoms typically occurs in young adulthood, with a global lifetime prevalence.

I got this definition from Google and I agree with it. However, here is my problem. Some thirty years ago before I became a  “behavioral psychologist,”  the psychiatrist at Norwalk Mental Hospital in California showed me the file of a Schizophrenic patient. Later on I met the patient in the Day Room. The patient asked me if I could get a permission to take him out of the facility for a walk to meet his girl friend and go shopping with her. We did. His behavior appeared normal. Looking back I believe the fellow should have been diagnosed on the basis of his behavior and not how much dopamine and serotonin he had in his brain. I believe that a mild schizophrenic could pass as normal if behavior was more prominent in the decision-making process by psychiatrists and psychologists. I challenge my colleagues to debate this issue.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

