More about C-MOR!

I really want to help. Last night I watched Spielberg’s movie Help and I asked myself why can’t we all get together on Facebook and Twitter to get the ball rolling toward a better life. What is holding us back? The answer came the next morning, Saturday, as befitting the Hebrew Shabbat. What is holding us back is that we don’t know where to go from here. There are just too many people having too many false solutions that look good to their followers. Am I just another dude with an idea? You would think so unless you have read Walden II and followed the lives of Rousseau, Buddha, Freud, Skinner and Pavlov. The first question you have to ask yourself in trying to understand how C-MOR can create a great life for all humans on this planet is the perennial question; is man good, bad or a blank tablet? The answer is simple. Man’s behavior is good if the environment he grows in is safe, supportive and friendly and the school he goes to is designed by C-MOR experts. Man’s behavior is bad if the environment he grows in is unsafe, not supportive or friendly and the school he goes to is designed by today’s educators (in every country!). The child’s brain is a blank tablet for parents, schools and care givers to write on.

C-MOR stands for contingency management of resources. It is very easy to learn and implement if you are serious about creating a mid-course-maneuver in your life and others. Without doing it you’d have to explain to your children why a better life is always just around the corner in your community!  My posting today isn’t just another reading to browse on the Internet. Stay with me only  if  you are comfortable with this obvious truth (at 75 I am no longer a politically correct psychologist). If  you continue to read I will assume you are serious enough to want to learn about life from Freud, Skinner, Pavlov and Buddha and I will continue to write

Contingency is a technical English word that Skinner described as behavior that is controlled by its consequences. In Eastern philosophy the word is akin to the word Karma: You make good causes and you get good effects, you make bad causes and you get bad effects. In the Bible it is : “Whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap” (Galatians 6:7-9. In Behaviorism it is called positive reinforcement, negative reinforcement and punishment. Here is an example from today: I was seated in food court at the mall for lunch when I saw a mother screaming at her screaming young daughter, “Don’t scream at your mother.” There is nothing more important in human relationships than to learn about contingencies! It will be giant step for mankind, even greater than landing on the moon! Now that I got your attention for sure, let me tell you what the Russian Pavlov got to do with all these. I was once at a party and a beautiful girl was all over a guy she just met who was trying to avoid her company.  I asked the host because was curious and I knew what to look for (practice: you can too). Turned out that  the beautiful girl wear similar jewelry that his girlfriend wear on the weekend she cheated on him! But, why was she all over him? Guess what, took me a week to find out that he wore a shirt like the one she bought for her dad for his birthday in Hawaii! You see, a genius Russian, Pavlov, found out that our emotions develop by association with events in our lives (now you know why brocoli turns you off and vanilla ice-cream doesn’t).

From time to time I will write more about C-MOR if there is demand. You see, I get emotional about good people, and their visits to my blog is my reward. That is why I took an hour of my busy day to write the best posting that I ever did Get going with C-MOR!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

