The naked girl and her sister from the Yellow marble planet.

I give permission to one of the dearest people in my life who is writing a documentary to include in her book this 2 stories how I used “participation therapy.” Once upon a time I was asked by Dr. W.B. to conduct separate therapy sessions with a 22-year-old female patient who was hallucinating (Schizophrenic), and a 19-year-old female patient who was taking her clothes off in public (exhibitionist). I decided to use “participation therapy,” a method that was against the protocol and is shun upon by most psychologists for cultural reasons.  I was let go shortly after using that forbidden technique in the half-way-house.

In “Participation Therapy” the therapist enters the patient’s world by accepting his behavior and exits his world with him only when the patient decides.  I love to do this kind of therapy because it really helps people return to normal reality while the brain’s hormonal balance is being restored with medication.

Her soft handshake felt warm and dry, “Doctor, I am really from the yellow marble planet, I swear.” I knew right away that her moron previous therapist tried to reason with her. “I know, Mary, that is why he is not coming back.” She looked at me and took a deep breath of relief, “Do you believe me?” I offered her tea, “Yes, I do, tell me about your home planet,” I said with enthusiasm, not a bit of acting in me, I really wanted to know what life was like on another planet. Experience and imagination are gifts to man from God. Needless to say, 3 weeks later she said, “Doc, I hate to disappoint you. I was born and raised in Inglewood, California.” That was when I was asked not to do “participation therapy” again, because, as they put it “The good ending does not justify the bad means”!

In the case of Angela, she took off her gown as soon as she entered the counseling room, scanning my face for a reaction (By protocol I was supposed to bring to her another gown. There were 10 different ones on the rack). “Please sit down, Angela.”  She stood there staring in disbelief, “Aren’t you suppose to turn you head away and walk toward me with another gown, like the other therapists do?” I ignored her statement masquerading as a question, “Please sit down.” “I will not.” “As you wish.”  On the third session she kept her gown on.” The next day I was dismissed from the case, never to return to the facility. The last I heard was that Angela started taking her clothes off again in therapy sessions.

Is there a moral to my 2 stories? i don’t know. There is a hint how therapeutic it would be to let people be not themselves sometimes. Well, actually, on a second thought, there is a moral to the story and I think it is, “You can’t be yourself without sometimes being not yourself, or as I told a mother once “You got to let the boy scream so he can become quiet, or, you got to let the baby cry himself to sleep, or you got to let him be bad before he can be good, and so on.  You know something? You are probably doomed if you can’t learn when!

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “The naked girl and her sister from the Yellow marble planet.”

  1. Watch Full Movies Online Says:

    Hallo im from germany and my english isnt that groovy, but i was in a position to take into account every single word of your article. Im on the lookout for english blogs to beef up my english abilities and im very satisfied to finally discover a blog, that publishes clear and dependent english that i will be able to translate. Thank you from Germany!

Leave a Reply

