Beware of tech. ads!

This morning I was shopping for a quality video movie camera for an important 21 days tour. The sales person described the JVC GD 120 HB digital camcorder for $750, “It’s an experience you’re sure to enjoy,” he said. His description of the camcorder was a professionally done “perfect” tech ad speech about a wonderful 120GB HD JVC HD620BU machine.

“Let me see,” I said, “Two hours video filming per day for 21 days, how many battery recharging would I need?” I asked.

He looked at me funny, “I don’t know, but I can find out,” he said, and took me to a store computer.

To make a long story short, after an hour of getting all his questions answered, but not getting my questions answered, I figured out that I will find what I want to buy only if I assert myself, stop the salesperson sales pitch and find the one sales person out of ten that could answer my questions, not his own! I know…my question is not easy to answer but I pay money: “I don’t have much time, please show me your  smallest, lightest, simplest, digital video movie camera that will record the sharpest 42 hours vacation movie, natural light, indoor light, night-time light, steady definition, max. zoom, recording for the most hours possible without recharging, changing software, emptying the hard drive or changing battery.”

Most people find out after they purchase electronic products that they had paid for features they would never use, that the battery didn’t last as long as they thought, that handling the camera was not as simple as they imagined, and many more disappointments.. I refuse to be influenced by sleek Tech. ads. I will find the best camera for my trip!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

