Commentaries on life by a maverick psychologist.

At the rate of responses to my blog, it would take me a 1000 years to create a peaceful revolution in relationships, let alone a thinking revolution in you! I have 50 years of maverick knowledge that can make an amazing difference in the lives of people who live with the wrong person on this planet. It is easy to find the perfect wife or the perfect husband! People have become cynical, they don’t believe what I say, but E-Harmony.com  could design a questionnaire with 20 right questions to ask (RQA)  that would do the job. If you can write me an example of a RQA, and explain why people avoid them at a terrible cost,  your insight and  fortitude will encourage me to continue dissemination true information in my Value Clarification, the Thinking Revolution, or even the Peaceful Revolution classification. 😛

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Commentaries on life by a maverick psychologist.”

  1. Noah Says:

    An RQA:

    Primarily I believe an RQA should tend to be impossible to answer dichotomously. Id est; do you like *? No I do not like, or * Yes I do like *.
    This takes us nowhere, (the implication of that statement being that we have somewhere we would like to get to, once the nature of the destination is known our task is simplified).

    An RQA needs to be capable of exploring a potential mates mind, there is also the interesting concept of using certain questions as subtle meta filters.

    An example question: In your opinion what is the most important aspect of a relationship? Or more briefly; what do you think makes a relationship work? Even more briefly; what is a relationship? (With some effort one could think of 4 or 5 potential tick box answers, though a written response would be superior)

    Why do people tend to avoid these types of questions? Well, I suppose there are many reasons, for instance I suspect that it doesn’t occur to many people to ask questions which challenge assumed mutual understanding. For instance, we both know what love is right? The answer is so obvious. But of course two people will have dramatically different ways of responding to that question. Realistically I doubt that more than 1 in 1000 can define love without being caught in a loop of Aristotelian bound semantics.

    Maybe the reason these questions aren’t asked is because at some level it is recognized that to ask them means to destroy ones current world view. Indeed most people define themselves by what the believe, which makes these sorts of questions rather perilous to the perpetuation of the Freudian concept of self.

    P.S. I also wonder whether or not there is the occasional conflict of two people attempting to satisfy different Maslowian needs. When one person is looking for safety and the other is looking for esteem I predict a clash.

    • drkinarthy Says:

      Noach, good commentary, but too long for me to work with. Let me extract the most important question: “What is a relationship?” If you can answer that correctly you are in the ‘ball game.’ Eli.

  2. Noah Says:

    I imagine that for a person who has never explored it, the question “what is a relationship” could generate a very illuminating conversation. A prime candidate for a RQA.

    • drkinarthy Says:

      Noah, explain the riddle, “A relationship is the frame around a painting, not the painting itself,” and you will know the perfect definition of a relationship.

    • drkinarthy Says:

      I read it, it’s interesting, but too long for me to respond to. You have insight. Make your postings to me shorter, and I will respond to details when I have time.

Leave a Reply

