Children visiting on Christmas.

Today is Christmas day. Some of you, the lucky ones, can’t wait to read my postings on WordPress. You know that I am a totally different kind of psychologist from the ‘garden variety.” I tell life like it is! I have 2 well off elderly friends, one never married and the other one had her 2 happily married daughters with their husbands and 5 gorgeous grandchildren fly in to Victoria for Christmas. The friend who never married was certainly not a ‘drag on’ the family celebration. She was shown affection by everyone, but you could see the sadness in her eyes, as if she was saying to herself, “Sure, I had a care free life, but now I am lonely. I have no wonderful children visiting on Christmas. I wonder what my grand kids would have looked like?”

She turned to me wiping tear in her eyes, and said, “I feel like my grandchildren were born to someone else.” 😦

I said nothing, but a thought entered my mind.  I’ll post this message to my young readers, “Plan ahead if you think that you might end feeling like my elderly friend. She is so sweet.”

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

